“ASTEROID!!!” Contest Winners!

24-Karat-Gold Bathroom ReaderLeeeeeeee-ay-deeez and juhhhhhhh-hentlemem, the winner of the ASTEROID!!! Contest held here at the BRI on Monday and Tuesday have been determined!

Your job in that contest was to guess how close Asteroid YU55 2005 would come to Earth when it passed us by Tuesday evening. We told you:

To give you a jumping-off point: NASA says it will pass inside the orbit of the moon—coming within  201,700 miles from Earth.

Four of you guessed 201,700 miles, thinking the smarty pants at NASA might know a thing or two about this business.

Well weren’t you clever:

At the point of closest approach today at 3:28 p.m. PST (6:28 p.m. EST/2328 UTC), it was no closer than 201,700 miles (324,600 kilometers), as measured from the center of Earth.

We thought they’d be a bit more precise than that, but that’s all they’re reporting. That means ALL FOUR OF YOU WON! 

You are:

  1. Lisandro Gutierrez
  2. Francisco Montalvo III
  3. David Matthews
  4. Jerry Bianco

Congratulations, gang, good thinking, and enjoy your brand new books and t-shirt!

And thanks to everybody for playing – we’ll have another contest soon!

P.S. To the two people who guessed 201,701 miles: D’oh!

********************************************************

Uncle John’s Bathroom Reader’s HOLIDAY SALE30% of all books – goes through December.